

SHELL ROCK RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT COALITION

Quarterly meeting of the Shell Rock River Watershed Management Coalition

9:30am, January 28, 2022 Nora Springs City Hall 45 N Hawkeye Ave, Nora Springs, IA

Attendees:

Voting members - Elizabeth Yaddof (City of Nora Springs), Ken Nelson (Cerro Gordo County SWCD), AJ Stone (Worth County), Mike Webb (Cerro Gordo County), Linda Tjaden (Floyd County), Dave McCann (City of Shell Rock), Doug Moehle (City of Northwood), Mike Miner (Butler County), Jim Hanson (Worth County), James Iverson (Worth County SWCD), Andy Johnson (Floyd County SWCD), Mark Hendrickson (Mitchell County). Dana Norby (Mitchell County SWCD), Ron Lenth (Bremer County SWCD), Joyce Dolan (Floyd County SWCD) via Zoom.

Non-voting - Kate Hansen (Center for Rural Affairs) via Zoom.

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll call
- 3. Approval of agenda
 - a. Motion by Miner, seconded by Iverson. MCU.
- 4. Approval of minutes
 - a. Oct. 21, 2021 quarterly meeting
 - i. Motion by Webb, seconded by Hanson. MCU.
 - b. Dec. 9, 2021 special comprehensive plan meeting
 - i. Motion by Yaddof, seconded by Tjaden. MCU.

5. Treasurer's report

- a. Report provided by Nelson in absence of Olson.
- b. Final local donations gathered for DNR grant proposal totals \$11,350.
- c. Last meeting:
 - i. balance \$0
 - ii. checks on hand \$500
 - iii. promised \$1,500

iv. spent \$0

- d. Today:
 - i. balance \$0
 - ii. checks on hand \$2,500
 - iii. promised \$8,850
 - iv. spent \$0
- e. Miner will send Olson monthly revenue expenditure report from fiscal sponsor, Butler County Conservation.
- f. Approval of treasurer's report, motion by Moele, seconded by Johnson. MCU.

6. Old business

- a. DNR grant update
 - i. Submitted grant application by deadline. No news received yet.
- b. Bylaws discussion
 - i. VIII B. current wording requires annual meeting, thus elections, to be held during 2nd quarterly meeting. Due to our inception date, our actual annual meeting will be in the 3rd quarter. Vote to change bylaw wording to 3rd quarter for annual meeting and elections.
 - ii. Motion to be made in April. Keep officers until Jan. 2023.
 - iii. Annual meeting and election of officers in April. At the same meeting, make a motion (old business) bring up change to a bylaws to address changing the annual meeting to first quarter, Jan. 2023 (+ elect officers). Address that the new officers' term would run to the new annual meeting of 2023.
- c. Secretary vacancy
 - i. Request by Nelson for members to recruit a secretary.

d. ARPA discussion

i. Update from Hansen on the Water Infrastructure Fund and other WMA's use of county level ARPA funds.

7. New business

- a. N/A
- 8. Public comments
 - a. N/A

9. Upcoming meetings

- a. Next quarterly meeting April 7, 2022, 9:30-11:30am, Nora Springs City Hall
- b. Possible Executive Committee meetings TBD

10. Adjournment

a. Motion by Miner, seconded by Tjaden. MCU.



SHELL ROCK RIVER WATERSHED MANAGEMENT COALITION

Special Comprehensive Plan Meeting

Immediately following quarterly meeting until 11:30am or as necessary January 28, 2022 Nora Springs City Hall 45 N Hawkeye Ave, Nora Springs, IA Zoom option available (see above)

Attendees:

Voting members - Elizabeth Yaddof (City of Nora Springs), Ken Nelson (Cerro Gordo County SWCD), AJ Stone (Worth County), Mike Webb (Cerro Gordo County), Linda Tjaden (Floyd County), Dave McCann (City of Shell Rock), Doug Moehle (City of Northwood), Mike Miner (Butler County), Jim Hanson (Worth County), James Iverson (Worth County SWCD), Andy Johnson (Floyd County SWCD), Mark Hendrickson (Mitchell County). Dana Norby (Mitchell County SWCD) via Zoom.

Non-voting - Andy Henschel (Shell Rock River Watershed District), Courtney Phillips (Shell Rock River Watershed District). Kate Hansen (Center for Rural Affairs) via Zoom.

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll call
- 3. Approval of agenda
 - a. Motion by Tjaden, seconded by Miner. MCU.
- 4. Guest speakers
 - a. Mr. Andy Henschel and Courtney Phillips of the Shell Rock River Watershed District (Minnesota)
 - i. Henschel and Phillips provided presentation about the activities and initiatives of the Shell Rock River Watershed District. Q&A with group followed.

5. Committee formation and elections

- a. Directive by Nelson to form committees with specific goals and tasks, many aligned with the potential DNR grant activities. Final committee list attached.
- b. Description:
 - i. SRRWMC membership will be broken up into working committees, each member committing to at least one. Members are encouraged to select the

committee most relevant to their interests and expertise, and those not in attendance on 1/28/22 will be assigned.

- ii. Groups will pick one person as a contact person who will give reports to the Board of Directors. Please notify Ken and Kate of your choice.
- iii. These groups will be allocated time to meet and conduct business during regularly-scheduled SRRWMC meetings. Each group may also find it necessary to have additional meetings above and beyond regular quarterly meetings to achieve desired goals in a timely fashion. Each group should evaluate and determine required time to complete goals—especially time-sensitive goals, such as securing a plan writer—and plan meetings accordingly.
- iv. The intention of these committees is to focus small groups on specific coalition goals, and ultimately maximize the strengths of our members and increase project efficiency.

6. Public comments

a. N/A

7. Adjournment

a. Motion by Stone, seconded by Tjaden. MCU.

SRRWMC Committees

Comprehensive plan (DNR application goal 1) — responsible for identifying, researching, interviewing and presenting to Board of Directors potential planning consultant (writer). Also responsible for monitoring, evaluating progress on plan work and reporting to BOD once initiated

- Mike Miner (Butler County)
- AJ Stone (Worth County)
- Dave McCann (Shell Rock)
- Kip Ladage/Ron Lenth (Bremer County)

Winnebago (DNR application goal 2) — initiate and pursue necessary requirements for establishing the Winnebago River WMC. Cerro Gordo County Soil and Water has already approved obligation of initial executive committee

- Mike Webb (Cerro Gordo County)
- Jim Hanson (Worth County)
- Ken Nelson (Cerro Gordo SWCD)

Membership (DNR application goal 3) — identify and recruit new members to the SRRWMC

- Linda Tjaden (Floyd County)
- Andy Johnson (Floyd SWCD)
- Mark Hendrickson (Mitchell County)

Funding — general fundraising and project funding as needed

- Doug Moehle/Dave Tenold (Northwood)
- Mike Miner (Butler County)
- Jim Hanson (Worth County)

Social media — create, update, and maintain appropriate avenues of media presence, i.e. web, Facebook, paper, radio, etc. (2-3 people)

- Elizabeth Yaddof (Nora Springs)
- Russ Olson/James Iverson (Worth SWCD)
- Dana Norby (Mitchell SWCD)