

DRAFT MINUTES

On Thursday, July 15, 2021 from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m., the members of the Shell Rock River Watershed Management Coalition met for the first time in the Community Room of the Nora Springs City Hall, located at 45 N Hawkeye Ave, Nora Springs, IA 50458. Some directors called into the meeting virtually as well. A virtual record of the meeting is available at https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-CbX1DNLjNeSMMqxqep0S2m819eUFn58/view?usp=sharing.

Directors present to form a quorum of members included:

Voting Directors Present

- Bruce Toenjes
- Elizabeth Yaddof
- Doug Moehle
- Dr. William Franklin
- Ron Lenth
- Commissioner Ken Nelson
- Russ Olson
- Andy Johnson
- Mike Miner
- Mark Hendrickson
- Linda Tjaden

- Mike Webb
- Joyce Dolan (alternate)
- Eric Jellum (alternate)

Others individuals present included:

- Cody Smith, Center for Rural Affairs
- Kate Hansen, Center for Rural Affairs
- Josh Balk, Iowa DNR
- Barbara Dilly, resident of Shell Rock, IA.

Welcome and Introductions - 9:30 a.m.

All directors and members of the public gave an introduction that included their name and association to the SRRWMC.

Presentation from the Center for Rural Affairs

Cody Smith and Kate Hansen of the Center for Rural Affairs gave a presentation covering the bylaws of the SRRWMC and answered questions relating to those bylaws.

Bylaw discussions and potential action on approval

After a discussion and some questions directed at the Center for Rural Affairs and DNR staff, the SRRWMC Board of Directors adopted the proposed bylaws of the SRRWMC by a voice vote. The vote was in the affirmative with one abstention from the City of Plymouth. [Action: Vote to Approve Bylaws]

Elections of Executive Committee

After a discussion and nominations, the SRRWMC Board of Directors adopted a slate of officers to form the Executive Committee of the SRRWMC. The vote was in the affirmative and there were no objections or abstentions. The Board of Directors chose not to select a Secretary during this meeting. The newly-elected Executive Committee is as follows. [Action: Vote to Elect Executive Committee]

Board Chair: Ken Nelson of the Cerro Gordo SWCD

Vice Chair/Chair-Elect: Mike Miner of the Butler County Board of Supervisors

Treasurer: Russ Olson of the Worth County SWCD

At Larges:

Linda Tjaden of the Floyd County Board of Supervisors **Mike Webb** of Cerro Gordo County Board of Supervisors

Ron Lenth of Bremer County SWCD

Secretary: To be determined at a later meeting.

Presentation from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Josh Balk, Acting Eastern Basin Coordinator with the Iowa Department of Natural Resources gave a presentation about watershed management authorities and answered questions about funding opportunities for watershed management authorities from the Iowa DNR.

Drafting a Mission Statement

The SRRWMC Board of Directors agreed to table this agenda item until the following meeting. [Action: Agenda item was tabled]

Committees, Projects, and Next Steps.

The SRRWMC Board of Directors agreed to table this agenda item until the following meeting. [Action: Agenda item was tabled]

The Meeting was adjourned at 11:29 a.m.