January 2, 2023 First Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Mark Smeby, Enos Loberg and A.J. Stone, present. All members voting "AYE" unless noted.

Meeting called to order by Smeby, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jake Hanson, Treasurer was sworn in by Jacki Backhaus, Auditor as a new county official.

Motion Smeby/Second Stone, to appoint Enos Loberg as Chairperson for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second by Loberg, to appoint A.J. Stone as Vice-Chairperson for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 29, 2022 meetings. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, that the following appointments be made: County Board of Health (3year) – Dennis Bartz and Kathryn Meyer; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Paul Ferley; Weed Commissioner (1-year) – Michael Bode; County Board of Review (6-year) – Mike Romig; Conservation Board(5-year) – Mark Lindflott; County Eminent Domain Compensation Board(1-year) – Realtor: Myron Lupkes, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Kris Gordon, Clara Hegeland, Chad Nelson, Erin Runde; Owner Operators of Agriculture Property: Keith Braun, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Arlo Rugland, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Ron Davidson; Owners of City or Town Property: Dick Bruns, David Bang, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad; Persons Having Knowledge of Property Values: Paul Tenold, Tyson Robb, David Irons, Aaron Carman, Ben Tweeten, Tim Enderson, Larry M. Johnson,; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) – Brian Tweeten; Civil Service Commission (6-year) – Bob Linden; Care Connections of Northern Iowa Governing Board (1-year) - A.J. Stone, Enos Loberg; Central Iowa Detention Center (3-year) – Mark Smeby, A.J. Stone; North Iowa Long Term Disaster Recovery Committee – Enos Loberg, Mark Tomlinson, Melissa Michaelis; Board of Directors – Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Enos Loberg, A.J. Stone; Iowa Workforce (3-year) – Mark Smeby; NCRERC (3-year) – Mark Smeby, A.J. Stone; NIACOG (1-year) – A.J. Stone, Mark Smeby, Doug Moehle; Transportation Policy Board (1-year) – Mark Smeby, Melissa Michaelis; NIACOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee (1-year) – Chad Nelson; North Iowa Vocational Center, Inc. (2-year) – Mark Smeby, A.J. Stone; Regional II Transit Advisory Committee (3-year) – A.J. Stone, Mark Smeby; Airport Zoning Ordinance-Board of Adjustment (3-year) – Michael Dierenfeld; City of Manly/Board of Adjustment (5-year) – A.J. Stone; City of Manly/Planning and Zoning Commission (5-year) – Joe Siems. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second by Stone, that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$1,400.00/acre for corn and \$850.00/acre for all other crops. Motion carried.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, that the County Auditor be authorized to pay the following bills during a meeting adjournment. Motion carried.

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, to approve Annual Construction Evaluation Resolution. Roll call: Smeby – Aye; Stone – Aye; Loberg – Aye. Motion carried.

## RESOLUTION 2023-01 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS**, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

**WHEREAS**, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

**WHEREAS**, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

**WHEREAS**, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2023 and January 31, 2024 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

**WHEREAS**, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Adopted this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of January, 2023.

Enos Loberg Chair, Board of Supervisors

ATTEST: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor

Motion Smeby/Second Stone, to approve that \$15.15 will be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Loberg that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Stone, to approve \$.655/mile as the mileage rate for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Smeby/Second Stone, to approve the county daily meal reimbursement rate remain at \$35/day for 2023. Motion carried.

Motion Stone/Second Smeby, to approve the Worth County Precinct Election Official Compensation Policy Resolution. Roll call: Smeby – Aye; Stone – Aye; Loberg – Aye. Motion carried.

## **RESOLUTION 2023-02**

Recommended Salary

## WORTH COUNTY PRECINCT ELECTION OFFICIAL COMPENSATION POLICY

WHEREAS, the Worth County Board of Supervisors does acknowledge the importance of Precinct Election Officials and Support Staff in the Election Process.

WHEREAS, the Worth County Board of Supervisors approve the following hourly rates for Precinct Election Officials Support Staff effective January 1st, 2023.

**Position** 

Precinct Election Official		\$13.00/Hour
Precinct Election Official – Chair or Co-Chair		\$14.00/Hour
THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that recommendations for the previously list is passed.	•	Board of Supervisors adopts the salary will remain in effect until a new compensation policy
<b>BE IT DULY ADOPTED</b> this $2^{ND}$ day	of January, 2023,	with the vote thereon being as follows:
AYES: Smeby, Stone, Loberg NAYS: N/A ABSENT/NOT VOTING: N/A		
WORTH COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS		ATTEST:
Enos Loberg, Chairman		Jacki A. Backhaus, Worth County Auditor
Motion Stone/Second Smeby, o	carried to adjourn a	t 9:08 A.M. Motion carried.
Jacki A. Backhaus Auditor	Mark Smeby Chairperson	
1100101	Chanpen	JOII