April 19, 2021 Sixteenth Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with A.J. Stone, Mark Smeby and Enos Loberg present.

Stone led the meeting in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following motions offered at this meeting were carried with the following vote: Ayes: Stone, Smeby and Loberg. Nays: none. Abstentions: none. Absent: None.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to amend the April 19, 2021 to add acknowledgement of Manure Management Plan Update.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to approve the April 19, 2021 board agenda as amended.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to approve the April 12, 2021 board minutes.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to approve the Notice of Destruction of Noxious Weeds as presented by Mike Bode, Worth County Weed Commissioner. The auditor was directed to publish the notice for 2021 in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 317 of the Code of Iowa.

RESOLUTION FOR THE DESTRUCTION OF NOXIOUS WEEDS 2021 CROP YEAR

Be it resolved, by the Board of Supervisors of Worth County, Iowa, that pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 317 of the *Code of Iowa*, as amended, it is hereby ordered:

 That each owner and each person in the possession or control of any land in Worth County, Iowa, shall cut, burn or otherwise destroy all noxious weeds thereon, as defined in this chapter, at such time in each year and in such manner as shall prevent said weeds from blooming or coming into maturity and shall keep such lands free from such growth of any other weeds as shall render the streets or highways adjoining said lands unsafe for public travel. Noxious weeds shall be cut, or otherwise destroyed.

Primary noxious weeds, which shall include: quack grass, bull thistle, perennial sow thistle, horse nettle, Canada thistle, leafy spurge, perennial pepper-grass, European morning glory or field bindweed, Russian knapweed, buckthorn and palmer amaranth

Secondary noxious weeds, which shall include: butterprint annual, wild carrot biennial & perennial, sour dock perennial, multiflora rose, teasel biennial, cocklebur annual, buckthorn perennial, smooth dock perennial, wild sunflower annual, shattercane annual, wild mustard annual, sheep sorrel, poison hemlock and puncture vine annual

- 2. That all weeds on county trunk and local county roads and between fence lines thereof will be taken care of by the county.
- 3. That if the owners or persons in possession or control of any lands in Worth County fail to comply with the forgoing order, the Weed Commissioner shall cause this to be done and that the

expense of said work, including costs of serving notices and other costs, if any, to be assessed against the real estate.

- 4. That the county auditor be and is hereby directed to cause notice of the making and entering of the forgoing order by publication in each of the official newspapers of the county by request of County Weed Commissioner, Mike Bode at 1000 Central Ave, Northwood, IA (641) 390-0268.
- 5. The Weed Commissioner be given full authority and power to carry out the provisions of the resolution.

Published upon order of the Worth County Board of Supervisors, A.J. Stone, Chair, this 19th Day of April, 2021

Attest: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor WORTH COUNTY, STATE OF IOWA

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to approve the clerk of court's monthly report.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to approve salary changes for Chad Wurtzel at \$58,933.84/year and Jake Dalluge at \$16.07/hour as submitted by the sheriff.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone recessed the regular session.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to open Public Hearing on Worth County Ordinance #2021.04.19.01 to Prohibit Alcohol at Kuennen's Quarry at 9:00 A.M. There was no public comment.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to close the public hearing.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone reconvened the regular session.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to waive the second and third readings of Ordinance 2021.04.19.01.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to adopt Ordinance 2021.04.19.01 AYE: Stone, Smeby, Loberg. NAY: None. Absent: None. Ordinance 2021.04.19.01 adopted and shall be in effect after publication as provided by law.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to appoint Todd Rothove to the Zoning Commission.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone recessed the regular session.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to open Public Hearing on Worth County Ordinance #2021.04.19.02 To Repeal 2018.12.03 Titled: Renewable Energy Provisions at 9:15 A.M. Public comment by John Adams, Julie Kuntz (via Zoom) and James Berge was heard.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to close the public hearing.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone reconvened the regular session.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to waive the second and third readings of Ordinance 2021.04.19.02. AYE: Stone, Loberg. NAY: Smeby. Absent: None.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to adopt Ordinance 2021.04.19.02 AYE: Stone, Loberg. NAY: Smeby. Absent: None. Ordinance 2021.04.19.02 adopted and shall be in effect after publication as provided by law.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone recessed the regular session.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to open the Public Hearing to Sell County Owned Property at 9:15 A.M. Public comment by James Berge was heard.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to close the public hearing.

Chairperson, Aaron Stone reconvened the regular session.

Motion by Smeby, second by Loberg, carried to waive the second and third readings on public hearing on proposed sale of county owned property. AYE: Stone, Loberg Smeby. NAY: None. Absent: None.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to approve the proposed sale of county property described as Lots One (1), through Lot Twelve (12) of the Top of Iowa Second Addition, Worth County, Iowa at the prices published in County newspapers. AYE: Stone, Loberg, Smeby. NAY: None. Absent: None.

Motion by Loberg, second by Smeby, carried to adjourn at 9:36 A.M. The next meeting of the Board of Supervisors will be Monday, April 26, 2021 at 8:30 A.M.

Jacki A. Backhaus	Aaron Stone	
Auditor	Chairperson	