November 10, 2020

Forty-sixth Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with A.J. Stone and Mark Smeby, present.

Electronic public access was made available by computer or telephone via Zoom.

Stone led the meeting in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following motions offered at this meeting were carried with the following vote: Ayes: Stone and Smeby. Nays: none. Abstentions: none. Absent: none.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve the November 10, 2020 agenda.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve the November 2, 2020 board minutes.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve drainage claims in the amount of \$36,932.73 as per the following schedule:

Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 2 Main	Prof Services	\$2,763.00
Rognes Bros Excavating Inc.	DD 3/Lat 3 Upper Ditch	Repairs	\$3,692.50
Rognes Bros Excavating Inc.	DD 3/Lat 3A	Repairs	\$646.50
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 3/Lat 8	Prof Services	\$240.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 11/Main A	Prof Services	\$7,700.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 11/Main A	Prof Services	\$700.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 13 Open Ditch	Prof Services	\$300.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 13/Lat 3 Ditch	Prof Services	\$1,065.50
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 13/Lat 3 Ditch	Prof Services	\$2,899.50
Northwood Anchor Inc.	DD 13/Lat 3 Ditch	Publication	\$75.89
Century Ag Inc	DD 17/Lat 2	Repairs	\$7,109.10
Popp Farm Drainage	DD 19 Main	Repairs	\$1,661.00
Century Ag Inc	DD 23/Lat 9B & 9B1	Repairs	\$1,552.99
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 34/Main E	Prof Services	\$600.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 38	Prof Services	\$240.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 46/Lat 9	Prof Services	\$1,143.50
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 46/Lat 9	Prof Services	\$3,365.50
Northwood Anchor Inc.	DD 46/Lat 9	Publication	\$77.75
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 49	Prof Services	\$600.00
Bolton & Menk Inc.	DD 52 Main	Prof Services	<u>\$500.00</u>
		Grand Total	\$36,932.73

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve claims in the amount of \$190,398.04 as per the following schedule:

A & I Auto Body Inc	Service-Eng	2,094.16
Advanced Drainage Sys Inc	Supplies-Eng	83.61
Alliant Energy	Service-Gsr	3,068.37
Aramark	Service-Gsr	328.33
At&T Mobility	Service-Shf	1,468.99

	a	201.20
Badker Plumbing & Heating Inc	Service-Eng	304.30
Bcn Telecom	Service-Gsr	93.49
Berge Oil Company	Fuel-Eng	22,314.83
Black Hills Energy Inc	Service-Eng	95.95
Bmc Aggregates Llc	Rock-Eng	234.46
Bob Barker Company Inc	Supplies-Shf	90.08
C J Cooper & Associates Inc	Service-Tra	250.00
Carquest Auto Parts Inc	Supplies-Eng	3,280.76
Cemstone Concrete Materials, Llc	Sand-Eng	1,365.70
Central Ia Detention	Service-Juj	2,066.54
Central Lock & Key Inc	Supplies-Eng	124.00
Centurylink	Service-Eng	57.00
Cintas Corporation	Supplies-Eng	94.80
City Of Fertile	Rutf-Eng	1,504.82
City Of Grafton	Rutf-Eng	865.03
City Of Hanlontown	Rutf-Eng	351.66
City Of Joice	Rutf-Eng	850.12
City Of Kensett	Rutf-Eng	463.19
City Of Manly	Service-Eng	47.97
City Of Northwood	Service-Gsr	423.83
Compass Minerals	Rock-Eng	64,585.52
Culligan Of Mason City	Service-Gsr	77.90
Dakota Popp	Reimb-Con	149.99
Deano's Road Dust Control	Supplies-Eng	823.50
Falkstone Llc	Rock-Eng	106.84
Frontier Precision	Supplies-Dap	24,208.00
Galls, Llc	Supplies-Shf	692.30
Greve Law Office	Rent & Payroll-Aty	6,035.00
Hogan Bremer Moore Col Chapels	Service-Mex	1,106.00
Homeward Inc	Appro-Org	5,000.00
Huber Supply Co Inc	Service-Eng	270.58
Ip Pathways	Supplies-Dap	400.00
Itsavvy Llc	Supplies-Asr	255.00
Joel Rohne	Reimb-Aud	66.82
Kelly Hardware	Supplies-Con	187.18
Lawson Products Inc	Supplies-Eng	373.15
Lea Mobile Glass Inc	Service-Ema	229.50
Manly Junction Signal	Service-Asr	69.00
Mark's Tractor Inc	Supplies-Con	78.44
Martin Marietta Materials Inc	Rock-Eng	1,209.61
Midwest Wheel Companies Inc	Supplies-Eng	87.77
Miller Ranch And Mobile Repair	Service-Eng	8,837.51
Municipal One	Service-Dap	1,736.00
Napa Auto Parts	Supplies-Eng	20.98
Nelson Family Trust	Rent-Shf	300.00
No Wait Inside, Llc	Service-Dap	29.00
Northern Ia Construction Products	Supplies-Eng	7,420.00
Northwood Anchor Inc	Service-Asr	166.00
Northwood Sanitation Llc	Servicew-Gsr	191.50
Nuss Truck & Equipment Inc	Service-Eng	3,006.25
Plunkett's Pest Control Inc	Service-Shf	124.80

Ram Systems	Service-Phd	720.00
Scp	Service-Eng	3,805.00
Shred Right	Service-Phd	47.25
Staples Credit Plan	Supplies	203.90
Star Equipment, Ltd	Parts-Eng	3,063.46
Teresa Olson	Reimb-Rec	41.61
Veenstra & Kimm, Inc	Service-Ndp	2,660.55
Verizon Wireless	Service-Shf	388.75
Visa	Service-Dap	564.03
Wex Bank	Fuel-Tra	1,362.62
Winnebago Coop Telephone Assn	Service-Gsr	3,038.30
Worth County Engineer	Fuel-Shf	3,708.60
Ziegler Inc	Parts-Eng	1,027.84
-	Grand Total	190,398.04

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve monthly report for sheriff's department.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to approve payroll eligibility verification for Kirstin Wendel per the sheriff's department.

The Board of Supervisors proceeded to canvass the results of the votes of the 2020 General Election for the US President and Vice President, U.S. Senator, US Representative, District 1; State Senator, District 26; State House of Representative, District 051, four Supreme Court Justices, four Court of Appeals Judges and four District 2A Judges and two District 2A Associate Judges were made and certified to the Secretary of State as provided by law. We hereby certify that 4,436 ballots were cast in Worth County at the General Election on November 3, 2020.

The vote for said offices and the County, Township, and Soil & Water Conservation District Commission, Agriculture Extension Council Member offices, pursuant to Iowa Code Chapter 50.24, were tabulated and the results were declared as set forth in the election records which, by this reference, is made part of these proceedings.

County officers were declared as follows: County Supervisor, District 2 – Gary A. Hanson County Auditor – Jacki A. Backhaus County Sheriff – Dan Fank

Township officers were declared as follows:

Barton Township:	Trustee – Curtis Bartz
Bristol Township:	Trustee – Douglas Arneson
Brookfield Township:	Trustee – Bill Imlau
Danville Township:	Trustee – Brett Backhaus
Deer Creek Township:	Trustee – Mark Davidson
Fertile Township:	Trustee – Dwight Bruns
Grove Township:	Trustee – Lois Lawler
Hartland Township:	Trustee – Douglas Wallin
Kensett Township:	Trustee – Larry Foley
Lincoln Township:	Trustee – James Dobel
Silver Lake Township:	Trustee – Mike Thompson
Union Township:	Trustee – Ronald Balek

Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners declared as follows: Harlan Helgeson, Dennis Meyer and James Dobel.

Agriculture Extension Council Members were declared elected as follows: Peter Julseth, Allyson Krull, Karla M. Larson and Jessica Lutz.

Motion by Smeby, second by Stone, carried to adjourn at 9:15 A.M. The next regular meeting of the Board of Supervisors will be Monday, November 16, 2020 at 8:30 A.M.

Jacki A. Backhaus Auditor Aaron Stone Chairperson