April 20, 2020 Seventeenth Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with A.J. Stone, Kenneth J. Abrams and Mark Smeby present.

This was an electronic meeting pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.8 – In circumstances where such a meeting is impossible or impractical due to concerns about COVID-19 and social distancing for the safety of board members and the public. Public access was made available by computer or telephone.

Stone led the meeting in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following motions offered at this meeting were carried with the following vote: Ayes: Stone, Abrams and Smeby. Nays: none. Abstentions: none. Absent: none.

Motion by Smeby, second by Abrams, carried to approve the April 20, 2020 agenda.

Motion by Smeby, second by Abrams, carried to approve the April 13, 2020 board minutes.

Motion by Abrams, second by Smeby, carried to approve the Notice of Destruction of Noxious Weeds as presented by Mike Bode, Worth County Weed Commissioner. The auditor was directed to publish the notice for 2020 in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 317 of the Code of Iowa.

RESOLUTION FOR THE DESTRUCTION OF NOXIOUS WEEDS 2020 CROP YEAR

Be it resolved, by the Board of Supervisors of Worth County, Iowa, that pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 317 of the *Code of Iowa*, as amended, it is hereby ordered:

1. That each owner and each person in the possession or control of any land in Worth County, Iowa, shall cut, burn or otherwise destroy all noxious weeds thereon, as defined in this chapter, at such time in each year and in such manner as shall prevent said weeds from blooming or coming into maturity and shall keep such lands free from such growth of any other weeds as shall render the streets or highways adjoining said lands unsafe for public travel. Noxious weeds shall be cut, or otherwise destroyed.

Primary noxious weeds, which shall include: quack grass, bull thistle, perennial sow thistle, horse nettle, Canada thistle, leafy spurge, perennial pepper-grass, European morning glory or field bindweed, Russian knapweed, buckthorn and palmer amaranth

Secondary noxious weeds, which shall include: butterprint annual, wild carrot biennial & perennial, sour dock perennial, multiflora rose, teasel biennial, cocklebur annual, buckthorn perennial, smooth dock perennial, wild sunflower annual, shattercane annual, wild mustard annual, sheep sorrel, poison hemlock and puncture vine annual

- 2. That all weeds on county trunk and local county roads and between fence lines thereof will be taken care **of by the county**.
- 3. That if the owners or persons in possession or control of any lands in Worth County fail to comply with the forgoing order, the Weed Commissioner shall cause this to be done and that the expense of said work, including costs of serving notices and other costs, if any, to be assessed against the real estate.

- 4. That the county auditor be and is hereby directed to cause notice of the making and entering of the forgoing order by publication in each of the official newspapers of the county by request of County Weed Commissioner, Mike Bode at 1000 Central Ave, Northwood, IA (641) 390-0268.
- 5. The Weed Commissioner be given full authority and power to carry out the provisions of the resolution.

Published upon order of the Worth County Board of Supervisors, A.J. Stone, Chair, this 20th Day of April, 2020.

Attest: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor WORTH COUNTY, STATE OF IOWA

Motion by Smeby, second by Abrams, carried to approve the auditor's quarterly report.

Motion by Smeby, second by Abrams, carried to approve the LMR Datalogger Agreement between County of Worth, Iowa and County of Cerro Gordo, Iowa.

Motion by Abrams, second by Smeby, carried to approve the Worth County Drone Policy.

A review of the FY19 Audit by Elizabeth Thyer, CPA, Gardiner + Co. was held at 9:00 A.M. Department heads were present.

Motion by Smeby, second by Abrams, carried to adjourn at 9:23 A.M. The next meeting of the Board of Supervisors will be Monday, April 27, 2020 at 8:30 A.M.

Aaron Stone Chairperson	
Champerson	
	Aaron Stone Chairperson