January 4, 2016 First Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Ken Abrams, Dave Haugen and Merlin Bartz present.

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following **motions** offered at this meeting were carried with the following vote: Ayes: Haugen, Abrams and Bartz. Nays: none. Abstentions: none.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to appoint Dave Haugen as Chairperson for 2016.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to appoint Merlin Bartz as Vice-Chairperson for 2016.

Motion by Bartz, second by Haugen, carried to approve the December 21, 2015 board minutes.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to approve IDOT Federal-aid Agreement for a County Highway Bridge Program Project – Project #BHOS-C098(070)-5N-98 (located on Co Rd S28 over Willow Creek, between 365th & 375th streets) with an estimated cost of \$300,000.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to approve **RESOLUTION** # 01.04.2016

CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and **WHEREAS**, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2016 and January 31, 2017 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Dave Haugen, Chair, Board of Supervisors ATTEST: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor 01/04/2016

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to approve that \$12.87 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2016.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to approve purchase of a new gas furnace to replace the electric furnace in the public health building.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to approve \$.50/mile as the mileage rate for 2016.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to recess the regular board meeting.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to open the public hearing for the Water System Improvements 2015, Water Treatment Plant Rehabilitation Equipment at 10:00 A.M. There was no public comment.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to close the public hearing at 10:01 A.M.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried to reconvene the regular board meeting.

Motion by Bartz, second by Haugen, carried to enter into a contract with Vessco, Inc., Ames in the amount of \$299,000 to purchase the Water Treatment Plant Rehabilitation Equipment, contingent on engineer review.

Motion by Bartz, second by Abrams, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) – Scott Hallbach & Dave Haugen; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Philip Hackbart; Board of Review(6-year) - Daniel Martinson; Conservation Board(5-year) - Joe Rosch; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) – Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Chad Nelson, Erin Runde, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Chris Hagen, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Gary Schotanus, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, Aaron Carman; Worth County Enterprise Zone Commission(3-year) – Mike Romig, Ken Abrams, Harold Brunsvold, Teresa Nicholson, Joe Nydegger, and Amos Groe; Zoning Commission (3-year) – Jeff Gorball & Ryan Severson; Board of Adjustment(5-year) – Marvin Bratrud; Central Social Services Governing Board (1-year) – Ken Abrams, Merlin Bartz; Winn Worth Betco (3-year) – Ken Abrams; Board of Directors – Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Ken Abrams, Merlin Bartz; North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (5-year) - Merlin Bartz; NIACOG(1-year) - Merlin Bartz, Dave Haugen, Richard Scholbrock, Terry Steinmetz, Tom Dakin, Julie Robb; Transportation Policy Board(1-year) – Dave Haugen, Teresa Nicholson; NIACOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee(1-year) – Andy Helgeson; Airport Zoning Ordinance Board of Adjustment (3-year) – Dennis Walser.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to table the appointment of the Weed Commissioner and Central Iowa Tourism Region Representative.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to approve the Class B Beer Permit for May Enterprises, Inc., d/b/a Fertile Pronto.

Motion by Abrams, second by Bartz, carried to adjourn at 11:01 A.M. The next meeting of the Board of Supervisors will be Monday, January 11, 2016 at 9:00 A.M.

Jacki A. Backhaus, Auditor

Dave Haugen, Chairperson