January 2, 2015 Second Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Ken Abrams and Dave Haugen present.

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following **motions** offered at this meeting were carried with the following vote: Ayes: Haugen, and Abrams. Nays: none. Abstentions: none.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to appoint Ken Abrams as Chairperson for 2015.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to appoint Dave Haugen as Vice-Chairperson for 2015.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve the December 22, 2014 board minutes.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve the contract for open ditch repairs to Drainage District No.23 by and between the Worth County Board of Supervisors and Jensen Excavating & Trucking, LLC.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve the IDNR Application for Renewal – Public Water Supply Operation Permit.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve RESOLUTION # 01.02.2015 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2015 and January 31, 2016 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3). Ken Abrams, Chair, Board of Supervisors ATTEST: Jacki A. Backhaus, County Auditor 01/02/2015

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve that \$12.62 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2015.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) – Stephanie Seemuth, M.D.; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Debra Herweyer; Weed Commissioner (1-year) – Kenneth Fredrickson; Board of Review(6-year) – Jerry Hopperstad; Conservation Board(5-year) – Matthew Smith; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) – Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Chad Nelson, Erin

Runde, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Chris Hagen, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, Aaron Carman; Zoning Commission(3-year) – Jeff Gorball, Harold Brunsvold, Jayne Lupkes, Chris Hagen; Board of Adjustment(5-year) – Donald Hagen; Civil Service Commission(6-year) – Dennis Faber; Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission(6-year) – Loren Hoffman, Lowell Kroneman, Ron Miller; NIACOG(1-year) – Richard Scholbrock, Terry Steinmetz, Tom Dakin, Julie Robb; Transportation Policy Board(1-year) – Dave Haugen, Teresa Nicholson; North Central Regional Emergency Planning District Committee(3-year) – Dave Haugen; NIACOG Revolving Loan Fund Committee(1-year) – Andy Helgeson; Prairie Winds RC&D, Inc.(1-year) – Dave Haugen.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to adopt a resolution that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$950.00/acre for corn and \$700.00/acre for all other crops.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 5, 2015.	
Auditor	Chairperson