## January 2, 2013

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Dave Haugen and Dennis May present. Ken Abrams was absent.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to appoint Dennis May as Chairperson for 2014.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to appoint Ken Abrams as Vice-Chairperson for 2014.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve the December 23, 2013 board minutes.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve the Agreement between STATE OF IOWA, Iowa Department of Transportation and Worth County, Iowa and Union Pacific Railroad Company for the construction and cost participation covering the installation of safety improvements at the railroad crossing at Milepost 17.11 on Dogwood Avenue and the Company's track in Worth County, Iowa.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve RESOLUTION # 01.02.2014 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2015 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3). Dennis May, Chair, Board of Supervisors ATTEST: Jacki Backhaus, County Auditor 01/02/14

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve that \$12.34 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2014.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) – Dennis Bartz; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Paul Ferley; Weed Commissioner (1-year) - Kenneth Fredrickson; County Board of Review (6-year) - Mike Romig; County Welfare Services (3-year) – Sandy Mireles; County Conservation Board (5-year) - Troy Christainsen: County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) - Guy Olson. Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Chad Nelson, Andy Helgeson, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Chris Hagen, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad,, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, Aaron Carman; County Enterprise Zone Commission (3-year) - Dave Haugen and Jean Torgeson; ; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) - David Quisley; Civil Service Commission (6-year) - Dennis Walser; Representative for Citizen's Advisory Board -Cherokee MHI (3-year) - Elsie Mechem; Representative for North Iowa Mental Health Center (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); North Iowa Juvenile Detention Services (3year) – Dave Haugen and Dennis May (alternate); Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); North Central Iowa EMS Board Representative of Worth County (3-year) – Carol Moe (alternate); Central Iowa Tourism Region Representative (5-year) – Jean Stowell; Iowa Workforce Appointee (3-year) – Dave Haugen; North Iowa Community Action (3-year) - Dave Haugen; NCREC (3-year) - Dave Haugen and Dennis May (alternate); NIACOG (1-year) – Dennis May(delegate), Dave Haugen (alternate), Terry Steinmetz (economic interests), Tom Dakin (city representative alternate), and Julie Robb (alternate at-large); Regional II Transit Advisory Committee (3-year) – Dennis May and Dave Haugen (alternate); Airport Zoning Ordinance Board of Adjustment (3-year) - Michael Dierenfeld; Prairie Winds RC & D, Inc (1-year) – Dave Haugen.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve that \$.52 be the mileage rate for 2013.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to adopt a resolution that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$950.00/acre for corn and \$700.00/acre for all other crops.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 6, 2014.

Jacki Backhaus, Auditor

Dennis May, Chairperson