The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Dave Haugen and Dennis May present. Ken Abrams was absent.

Jacki Backhaus, Auditor was sworn in by Dave Haugen and Dave Haugen, Supervisor; Jay Langenbau, Sheriff; and were sworn in by Jacki Backhaus as new county officials.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to appoint Dave Haugen as Chairperson for 2013.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to appoint Dennis May as Vice-Chairperson for 2013.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve the December 26, 2012 board minutes.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve Resolution #01-02-13 CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2013 and January 31, 2014 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Dave Haugen, Chair, Board of Supervisors ATTEST: Jacki Backhaus, County Auditor 01/02/13

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve the salary increase for Mark Schoeller at \$34.11/hr., Nancy Lund at \$27.41/hr., Sandy Northrup at \$27.41/hr., Judy Kroneman at \$16.45/hr. and Janine Schrieber at \$14.54/hr. submitted by the Iowa Department of Human Services for the Child Support Recovery Unit.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve the payroll eligibility verification for Kay E. Clark at \$30/hr. and Jacki A. Backhaus at \$47,014 annually submitted by the auditor's office.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve that \$11.98 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2013.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) - Scott Halbach and Dave Haugen; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3year) - Philip Hackbart; Weed Commissioner (1-year) - Robert Mogk; County Medical Examiner (2-year) - Pathology Associates of Mason City; County Conservation Board (5-year) - Jeff VanSteenburg; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) - Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Ron Sietsema, Randy Hanna, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Chris Hagen, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Roger Rustad,, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, Aaron Carman; County Enterprise Zone Commission (3-year) Mike Romig, Ken Abrams, Harold Brunsvold, Teresa Nicholson, Joe Nydegger, Amos Groe, County Zoning Commission (3-year) - Clair Hengesteg, Ryan Severson; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5vear) – Brian Tweeten; Flood Plain Administrator – Al Venz; Civil Service Commission (6-year) - Randy Hanna; Representative for North Iowa Mental Health Center (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); WINN-WORTH BETCO (3-year) - Ken Abrams; Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); Advisory Board of Health (2-year) - Dennis May; NIACOG (1-year) - Dennis May(delegate), Dave Haugen (alternate), Mark Thoma (city representative), Terry Steinmetz (economic interests), Tom Dakin (city representative alternate), and Julie Robb (alternate at-large); North Iowa Vocational Center, Inc. (2-year) Dennis May (delegate), Dave Haugen (alternate); Airport Zoning Ordinance Board of Adjustment (3-year) - Dennis Walser; Prairie Winds RC & D, Inc (1year) – Dave Haugen.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve that \$.525be the mileage rate for 2013.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to adopt a resolution that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$1050.00/acre for corn and \$700.00/acre for all other crops.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve the appointment of Dan Fank, Jesse Luther, John Smith, Chad Wurtzel, Brook Stein and Andy Grunhovd as deputies by Jay Langenbau, Sheriff and Barb Walser as deputy by Jacki Backhaus, Auditor.

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 7, 2013.

Auditor

Chairperson