January 3, 2012 First Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with all members present.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to appoint Ken Abrams as Chairperson for 2012.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to appoint Dave Haugen as Vice-Chairperson for 2012.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion May, second by Haugen, carried to approve the December 27, 2011 board minutes.

The board received a petition for repairs on DD6/L7, 8, & 9 by Bruce Helgeson. The board directed Engineer Rich Brumm to check into the cost of a drainage engineer & repairs.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve the claim to Tim LaPointe Client Trust Acct-settlement/shf-\$8,185.00.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve the wire transfer to First American Title Insurance Co-Xenia purchase/NDP-\$2,350,000.00 & closing costs/NDP-\$6,582.00.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to approve Resolution #01-03-12 Construction Evaluation Resolution

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2012 and January 31, 2013 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and

WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Ken Abrams, Chair, Board of Supervisors ATTEST: Kay Clark, County Auditor Date: 01/03/12

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve that \$11.65 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2012.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried to approve Amendment #1 to the Water & Wastewater System Improvements Agreement for Engineering Services between McClure Engineering Company, of North Liberty, Iowa and Worth County, Iowa.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) – Dr. Stephanie Seemuth; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Debra Herweyer; Weed Commissioner (1-year) - Joy Hendrikson; County Conservation Board (5-year) – Justin Faber; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) - Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Ron Sietsema, Randy Hanna, Allan Bratrud, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Roger Rustad, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, and Aaron Carman; County Zoning Commission (3-year) - Harold Brunsvold, Jayne Lupkes, Ted Lawyer; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) – Steve Butler; Zoning Administrator (5-year) – Jim Rice; Representative for North Iowa Mental Health Center-Mason City (1-year) - Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); North Central Regional Emergency Planning District Committee (3-year) – Dave Haugen; NIACOG (1year) – Dennis May (delegate), Dave Haugen (alternate), Randy Severson (city representative), Katie Rice (economic interests), Tom Dakin (city representative alternate), Julie Robb (alternate at large), Prairie Winds RC&D, Inc (1-year) – Dave Haugen.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to adopt a resolution that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$850.00/acre for corn and \$600.00/acre for all other crops.

Motion by May, second by Haugen, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Auditor	Chairperson

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 9, 2012.