January 3, 2011 First Day

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with all members present.

Ken Abrams, Supervisor; Dennis May, Supervisor; Liz Kenison, Recorder; Jake Hanson, Treasurer; and Jeff Greve, Attorney were sworn in by Kay Clark as new county officials.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to appoint Dennis May as Chairperson for 2011.

Motion by Haugen, second by May, carried to appoint Ken Abrams as Vice-Chairperson for 2011.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve the December 28, 2010 board minutes.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to re-appoint Rich Brumm as County Engineer.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve the claim to Allied Manatts Group-roads/eng-\$73,476.85.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to approve crop damage to be \$600.00/acre for beans and \$850.00/acre for corn.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to adopt a resolution that Rich Brumm is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with county engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuation, fence removed be \$18.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$32.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$850.00/acre for corn and \$600.00/acre for all other crops.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to approve Resolution #01-03-11 **CONSTRUCTION EVALUATION RESOLUTION**

WHEREAS, Iowa Code section 459.304(3) sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wishes to adopt a "construction evaluation resolution" relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure; and

WHEREAS, only counties that have adopted a construction evaluation resolution and submitted an adopted recommendation may contest the DNR's decision regarding a specific application; and

WHEREAS, by adopting a construction evaluation resolution the board of supervisors agrees to evaluate every construction permit application for a proposed confinement feeding operation structure received by the board of supervisors between February 1, 2011 and January 31, 2012 and submit an adopted recommendation regarding that application to the DNR; and WHEREAS, the board of supervisors must conduct an evaluation of every construction permit application using the master matrix created in Iowa Code section 459.305, but the board's recommendation to the DNR may be based on the final score on the master matrix or may be based on reasons other than the final score on the master matrix;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF WORTH COUNTY that the Board of Supervisors hereby adopts this construction evaluation resolution pursuant to Iowa Code section 459.304(3).

Dennis May

Chair, Board of Supervisors

Date: 01-03-11

ATTEST: Kay Clark County Auditor Date: 01-03-11

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to approve the salary change for Andy Grunhovd to \$41,723.85.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to approve the 2010 Weed Commissioner's report.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to approve that \$11.37 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for 2011.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Junction Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, carried to approve the appointment of Teresa Olson as deputy by Liz Kenison, Recorder and Kimberly Anderson, Stephanie Hengesteg, and Amy Jorgensen as deputies by Jake Hanson, Treasurer.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried that the following appointments be made: Board of Health (3-year) – Dennis Bartz and Teresa Cooper; Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Paul Ferley; Weed Commissioner (1-year) – Joy Hendrickson, Jr.; County Medical Examiner (2-year) – Pathology Associates of Mason City; County Welfare Services (3-year) – Sandra Mireles; County Conservation Board (5-year) – Randy Sime; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) – Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Lonnie Harris, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Ron Sietsema, Randy Hanna, Allan Bratrud, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Dick Bruns, David Bang, Roger Rustad, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Arlyn Tenold, Tyson Robb, Ralph Jennings, and Aaron Carman; Worth County Enterprise Zone Commission (3-year) – Ken Abrams, Dave Haugen, and Jean Torgeson; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) – Marvin Bratrud; Civil Service Commission (6-year) – Marvin Martin; Representative for Citizen's Advisory Board-Cherokee MHI (3-year) – Elsie Mechem; Representative for North Iowa Mental Health Center-Mason City (1-year) – Ken

Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); North Iowa Juvenile Detention Services (3-year) – Daye Haugen and Dennis May (alternate); WINN-WORTH BETCO (3-year) – Ken Abrams; Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Ken Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); Advisory on Board of Health (2-year) – Dennis May; North Central Iowa EMS Board Representative (3-year) – Tricia Holden (delegate) and Carol Moe (alternate); Central Iowa Tourism Region Representative (5-year) – Karen Belville; North Iowa Community Action (3year) – Dave Haugen; North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (5-year) – Gene Nelson (delegate) and Bruce Burton (alternate); NCREC (3-year) – Dave Haugen (delegate) and Dennis May (alternate); NIACOG (1-year) – Dennis May (delegate), Dave Haugen (alternate), Randy Severson (city representative), Katie Rice (economic interests), Tom Dakin (city representative alternate), and Julie Robb (alternate at large); North Iowa Vocational Center, Inc. (2-year) – Dennis May (delegate) and Dave Haugen (alternate); Regional II Transit Advisory Committee (3year) - Dennis May (delegate) and Dave Haugen (alternate); Airport Zoning Ordinance Board of Adjustment (3-year) – Michael Dierenfeld; North Central Iowa Decategorization Project Governance Board – Ken Abrams; Prairie Winds RC&D, Inc (1-year) – Dave Haugen; Homeward Housing Trust Fund Committee Members – Mindy Tenold and Kenneth Abrams.

Motion by Abrams, second by Haugen, to approve the Agreement of Services between Worth County and Pathology Associates of Mason City. Yea – Abrams & May; Nay – Haugen. Motion carried.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

Motion by Haugen, second by Abrams, carried to accept the term sheet for the infrastructure asset purchase from Xenia Rural Water District by Worth County, IA for the purchase price of \$2,350,000.

A 1'a	OI :	
Auditor	Chairperson	

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 10, 2011.