## January 3, 2006

The Worth County Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with all members present.

Motion by May, second by Abrams, carried to appoint Darrell Bang as Chairperson and Kenneth Abrams as Vice-Chairperson for 2006.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to approve the December 27, 2005 board minutes.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to approve contract BROS-C098(36)- -5F-98 in the amount of \$122,028.00 and the Iowa DOT Contractor's Bond.

A public hearing was held at 10:30 A.M. regarding the confinement feeding operation construction permit application submitted by Kent Krause. A timeline of the receipt of the application, publication deadlines, and recommendation deadline to DNR was explained. The public asked for an extension to submit written comments and a decision by the board on their recommendation. The board agreed to act on the recommendation at the January 9, 2006 board meeting and will accept written comments until that time. Some of the concerns expressed were the effect on waterways, air pollution, health issues, valuation of property, quality of life, and no benefit to the county. Issues regarding the soil types on the property, the area is flood prone, and the matrix score was barely above minimum were also discussed. The board was informed that if they recommended against it and the DNR approved it, they could appeal to the EPA. The public requested the board deny the application and the board agreed. The public hearing adjourned at 11:30 A.M.

Motion by May, second by Abrams, carried to approve Resolution #01/03/06 Construction Evaluation Resolution.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to approve the payroll eligibility verification for Lisa A. Hartman at \$17.50/hr. submitted by the Public Health Department.

Motion by May, second by Abrams, carried to approve the Auditor's quarterly report.

Motion by May, second by Abrams, carried to approve that \$9.82 be the hourly rate paid by the courthouse for FY2006/2007.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried that the Northwood Anchor and Manly Signal be designated the official county newspapers.

Motion by Abrams to appoint Dr. John Byrd to the Board of Health. No second. Motion by Bang, second by May, to re-appoint Dr. Stephanie Seemuth to the Board of Health (3-year). Bang and May voted aye, Abrams abstained. Motion carried.

Motion by May, second by Abrams, carried that the following appointments be made: Commission of Veteran Affairs (3-year) – Eugene Ferden; Civil Service Commission – Kevin Pitzen; North Iowa Mental Health Center (1-year) – Kenneth Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services (1-year) – Kenneth Abrams and Dennis May (alternate); North Central Regional Emergency Planning District Committee (3-year) – Darrell Bang; Central Iowa Tourism Region Representative (5-year) – Karen Belville.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried that the following appointments be made: Weed Commissioner (1-year) – Joy Hendrickson, Jr.; County Conservation Board (5-year) – Randy Sime; County Eminent Domain Compensation Commission (1-year) - Guy Olson, Michael Romig, Julie Robb, Arlyn McHenry, Richard Hanna, Lonnie Harris, Dennis May, Clara Helgeland, Dan Low, Ron Sietsema, Randy Hanna, Allan Bratrud, Lowell Kroneman, David Hengesteg, Jerald Rognes, Steve Davidson, Roger Clagett, Earl Trenhaile, Erling Myli, Dick Brattrud, Larry Burtness, Dennis Faber, Terry Steinmetz, Laura Sabby, Jane Podgorniak, Steve Wise, Arlyn Tenold, Allen Low, Daryl Carlson, and Ralph Jennings; Zoning Commission (3-year) – Harold Brunsvold, Jayne Lupkes, and Ted Lawyer; Zoning Board of Adjustment (5-year) – Marvin Bratrud; Iowa Workforce (3-year) – Darrell Bang; NIRHA (5-year) – Dan Low; NIACOG (1-year) – Dennis May, Darrell Bang (alternate), Richard Scholbrock (city representative), Richard Baird (economic interests), Michael Wilson (city representative alternate); and Julie Robb (alternate at large).

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to re-appoint Jim Hyde as County Engineer.

Motion by Abrams, second by May, carried to adopt a resolution that Jim Hyde is hereby authorized and empowered on behalf of the Worth County Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county, adopt a resolution to comply with provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act as amended by Title IV of the Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987; that in accordance with County Engineer recommendation, that for secondary road projects, ROW payments be 3 ½ times the 100% valuations, fence removed by \$12.00/rod for barbed-wire and \$25.00/rod for woven wire, and crop damage to be \$400.00/acre for 2006.

Motion by May, second by Bang, carried that the County Auditor be authorized to pay bills during a meeting adjournment:

- 1. Salaries and payroll previously approved by the board.
- 2. Insurance payments and unemployment quarterly report payments.
- 3. Emergency expenses deemed necessary by the County Auditor.

The meeting adjourned until 9:00 A.M., January 9, 2006.